About us

The Electoral Council is a central electoral committee, an advisory body and an information centre in the field of franchise and elections.

The Electoral Council consists of seven members. These members are appointed by Royal Decree for a period of four years, and can be reappointed twice. They are appointed on the basis of their expertise in giving advice on the Election Law and elections.

A secretariat assists the members of the Electoral Council in their activities.

Image: ©kiesraad